The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-17-2021, 02:00 PM

Question Pain in the right arm when playing guitar while sitting. Help, please!

I started playing the guitar recently and hold the guitar like this guy.

https://imgur.com/a/VnNeVba

I feel a cramp in my biceps, as it does when you decrease blood circulation in some part of the body. This cramp appears after I play the guitar for about 30 minutes, it lasts for some time even after I stop playing the guitar.
Old 05-17-2021, 03:08 PM

I think what you need to do is relax. Get rid of the tension.You might even try shaking your arms to loosen them up.
Old 05-17-2021, 03:15 PM
Charter Member

Try holding the guitar like Toby Walker;

I was having a similar problem caused by disc problems in my neck. Toby recommended that I try putting the guitar on my left leg and just like that, the problem went away.

Toby is a great guitar teacher and a great guy. If you're thinking about blues finger picking, he's the man to look up.
Old 05-17-2021, 03:57 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by newguitarplayer View Post

I feel a cramp in my biceps, as it does when you decrease blood circulation in some part of the body. This cramp appears after I play the guitar for about 30 minutes, it lasts for some time even after I stop playing the guitar.
Bodies are weird, and different things work for different people. I have a sitting position roughly similar to what you showed us, and suddenly after playing off and on for 40 years, it recently gave me a slight numbness/tingle in my right arm. I changed position for several days, and it solved that problem. I later forgot I had that problem, went back to the "problem" position without thinking, and haven't had that problem again. Yet!

There may be no substitute for changing position, temporarily or permanently.