The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 11-11-2018, 12:28 PM
Charter Member

Default Newbie to electrics. Any advice appreciated

Greetings AGFers,

I've been playing acoustic for 10 years now and would describe myself as an intermediate-advanced player as I can create my own songs and have progressed to playing more complex fingerstyle arrangements.

But lately I've been wanting to branch out and experiment with my style. And there's so many songs I want to learn that just don't translate well to acoustic.

When it comes to electrics, I'm a complete novice. I would prefer an all-around guitar--as I play all music styles--so something that can handle rock, blues, country, etc. More research is needed. Ideally, this being my first electric, I'd like to keep my guitar (and if possible, the whole setup) under 1,000$. Also, I have no desire to splurge initially on electronics and pedals. I'm only playing this guitar at my home. No gigs. Just need a basic setup to get started playing.

I know there are many, many options these days regarding guitar brands, and I'm not adverse to trying them. So I'm certainly open to suggestions. Thanks for reading this post. Cheers.

Last edited by DamagedSurfer; 11-11-2018 at 12:41 PM.
Old 11-11-2018, 12:34 PM
Charter Member

Also, I usually buy used. I think I've only ever bought one new guitar. So that should help the price.
Old 11-11-2018, 12:43 PM

I think a Fender Stratocaster is a good choice; I know telecasters are popular among acoustic guitarists but the strat is a better performer at low volume and has a softer feel to the strings with body cavity reverb even without using tremolo. Since it’s inception the strat has probably outsold the tele five to one, while the latter is more dependent on amplification to really bite.
Old 11-11-2018, 12:57 PM