The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 11-09-2018, 09:09 AM

Default Woolsey Fire

I’ve been a SoCal resident for decades....and then some. I’ve never seen anything like this fire. It has destroyed much of Newberry Park and Thousand Oaks. There is no count as to homes destroyed at this point but the current “mandatory evacuation” covers 4 or 5 major communities and hundreds of thousand of households. It’s raging northwest to Agoura Hills, due west through Calabasses, marching relentlessly towards Malibu and on the other side heading to the upper end of Simi Valley. The Santa Ana’s are not to die down until 1:00 this afternoon, but unfortunately the winds are to re-group and pick up again Saturday. The 101 freeway is completely shut down which is strangling Los Angeles traffic. (as if we needed more strangling) Here to fore the Santa Ana’s have been too much for water-drop aircraft to even attempt to fly and for those who have endured this before and know, fires this big create their own wind and weather patterns to complicate further.

For those that have never witnessed this type of event it’s a massive, massive tragedy equal in destruction to almost any of mother nature’s worst. So sad coming one day after a terrible shooting event. Sigh...

One positive out of this. The Los Angeles Fire Departments are the absolute finest, not only in the country, but the world. They are in short an elite fighting machine
Old 11-09-2018, 09:15 AM
Charter Member

I just learned this morning that my oldest cousin, who lived in Paradise, lost everything he owned in the Camp Fire. The speed of wildfires is hard to believe. I've seen them for decades from the air and they always amaze me.

I have no doubt about your assessment of the LAFD. They do a remarkable job.
Old 11-09-2018, 09:40 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerbie View Post