The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 12-16-2011, 08:55 AM

Default Outlandish resonator and others by Bob Rigaud

Hi all, I'm new to the AGF and thought I'd post a few photos of some guitars my friend and employer has built over the past couple years. I have the honor of having executed the inlays and fancy work featured in these instruments.

First is a Southern Red Maple Art Deco resonator that took about a thousand combined man hours to complete.

Next is beautiful little Brazillian Rosewood parlor size - The fingerboard features a full length snakewood insert and the rosette and headstock features bubbinga and spalted maple accents. A sweet little player with an angel's voice.

Last is a nice BRW Jumbo that John Hiatt bought (His second Rigaud, the first being a Walnut bodied mid-size) and currently appears in a lot of his promotional videos for his current CD. Check out the acoustic version of "Adios to California" on youtube to hear this monster.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ju_PxpV00Wg

Hope you enjoy, and Happy Holidays!

Laser Bob

Last edited by fitness1; 12-16-2011 at 08:25 PM.
Old 12-16-2011, 10:16 AM

wow. that resonator is amazing. stunning.
Old 12-16-2011, 10:38 AM

beautiful guitars!
Old 12-16-2011, 10:46 AM

beautiful guitars!
Old 12-16-2011, 10:48 AM

Incredibly beautiful, thank you for the pictures and welcome to the AGF, you will be a wonderful asset.
Old 12-16-2011, 11:38 AM

I love the use of woods on the resonator. Very very nice!
Old 12-16-2011, 01:09 PM

Thanks for the kind words and welcome!

Joel - looking at your work I'd say you're really adept at the use of beautiful woods and inlay - Gorgeous guitars.

The resonator used 100 year old Koa that Bob bought on a trip to Maui some years ago. He's currently building a parlour guitar and Uke set from the same wood - Should be smashing and I'll post pics when practicable.