The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 11-14-2019, 04:29 PM

Default Topwood options for EIR back/sides.

Plodding along with first build. Ended up buying a back and sides on the bay for a decent price. Sides are better than the ones I’ve already thicknesses and shaped. I want to build a dread. My current build is OOO. Why are other prominent and or successful pairings for EIR? Cedar? Redwood?

Remember, I am a newb so outlandishly priced Woods need not apply, and they’d be wasted with my novice ability.
Old 11-14-2019, 09:14 PM

Every type of top wood has been used with EIR, they all work depending what you are trying to achieve.
Old 11-15-2019, 07:22 AM

For a first build I would recommend Sitka spruce. Tons of it around, economical and more durable for dents, dings, tooling marks a first build will get.
Old 11-15-2019, 01:34 PM

What Glen said.
Old 11-18-2019, 09:06 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Carruth View Post
What Glen said.
My first build is already underway. It is EIR and spruce top.

I have another EIR back and sides. Wondered what another good top would be for a steel dread?
Old 11-19-2019, 08:49 AM

Red spruce. It's not expensive if you buy cosmetically challenged tops directly from the cutter.
Old 11-19-2019, 06:27 PM

^ Hampton bros on ebay may have some colored lower cost red spruce. RC tonewoods is another but I have only bought a few sitka from allied at very fair prices AA is still $35 I think.
Old 11-20-2019, 07:42 AM

Everybody keeps going back to spruce. So I am gathering that spruce is the only topwood used for a steel string dread? Unless you are going all mahogany like a D15m?

All other topwood options are mainly for classical?

Not getting testy or anything, just honestly asking those on here withmuch more experience.
Old 11-20-2019, 11:04 AM