The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 04-29-2022, 01:35 PM
Charter Member

Default "You're Only Lonely" by JD Souther (cover)

JD Souther had a top-10 hit in the USA with "You're Only Lonely" back in 1979. My YouTube friend Mach Buffet from Australia suggested this song just recently after I covered Roy Orbison's "Pretty Woman." Both of these songs have that early 60s early rock-n-roll sound that is so easy on the ears. For guitar players I am playing mostly G, Em, C, & D, so it's not terribly hard for experienced players. I added other instruments because somehow this song seemed to sound better with added instruments and background vocals.

You'll notice that a piano comes in along with bass at the beginning of the 2nd verse. This is my first time accompanying a song on piano. The piano is an old Rhodes MK80 88-key weighted keyboard using midi to talk to a huge sample in my computer of a wonderful Steinway concert grand.

Also, I use my Fender Strat Pro II beginning at the 3rd verse with a very simple chord across the strings at the start of each measure. The amp is from Guitar Rig 6 and is a model of a Fender Deluxe Reverb with a little bit of tremolo.

I also added a shaker starting at the 2nd verse to provide a little percussion. I video recorded the shaker, but I never used the clip in the final video.

Thank you for listening!

- Glenn
Old 04-29-2022, 04:15 PM

Good job and good song.
I've played that song at a few jams before and it's like no one heard of it before.
Old 04-29-2022, 04:36 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by edmonds View Post
Good job and good song.
I've played that song at a few jams before and it's like no one heard of it before.
Hi Edmonds,