The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 07-15-2018, 10:45 AM

Default Laminate vs All Solid - with a slight twist...

I would like to know what you guys and gals think about this:

All things being equal and in this case I am comparing a Yamaha CSF3M and a CSF1M. The CSF1M is a lightly built solid top with laminate back and sides. The guitar sounds quite “alive” and very good. The CSF3M is all solid and seems to be a bit overbuilt by comparison. It also sounds very good, but is more subdued. Both guitars are new.

I can only keep one and I am partial to all solid guitars. However, I typically buy used so I am not an expert in whether or not a new all solid guitar will open up or not.

So in this situation, do you take the laminate or the solid?
Old 07-15-2018, 10:49 AM

It's a musical instrument, not a piece of furniture. Buy the one that sounds best to you and forget about how it's put together
Old 07-15-2018, 10:50 AM

I take the one I like the best. I don't count on guitars opening up.
Old 07-15-2018, 10:57 AM

Tons of good guitars from both sides. Follow your ears!

it is generally understood that all solid wood guitars “age”, and many people really like the changes this produces in tone. A laminate guitar might be more predictable in terms of the tone it produces over time. What you hear now is probably what you’ll hear 10 years later with wood laminates.

It all boils down to personal preference.
Old 07-15-2018, 11:00 AM

Predicting if or how a guitar will "open up" isn't something that anyone can do. Every guitar is built differently. Some guitars have a transformation. Some have only modest differences after being played in. A Tonerite can help, but you can't tell how much until a couple hundred hours of it.