The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 05-24-2014, 07:50 AM

Default Recording Singing and Acoustics

I am just a beginner and currently recording some of my chords on my Iphone, so I can hear play back. We pretty much have all the I goodies in our home, the phones, pads, computers and such.

In the future as I develop, I will have a desire to record more of my playing, but may also want to record my singing. As of now, I am a better singer than player I was thinking of purchasing the Apogee One mic in the future to record my playing, but that still leaves the question to singing. I want to record both at the same time. What would you suggest for a good basic setup? I just don't want to make a purchase that I probably won't use in the future.
Old 05-24-2014, 04:35 PM

Im a beginner too with about 8 months of guitar. I bought a used Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 from a forum member, have a variety of cheap mics (most given to me), and a free mic stand to do my recordings. The link below has some examples but as I'm learning about mic placement and things like that I'm sure I could do better quality recordings. It may not be the best equipment but it's certainly good enough to track progress.

Have fun!
Old 05-24-2014, 05:46 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by River Hill View Post
I am just a beginner and currently recording some of my chords on my Iphone, so I can hear play back. We pretty much have all the I goodies in our home, the phones, pads, computers and such.