The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-22-2018, 01:23 PM

Default Finding new, refreshing chord progressions

I'm not a beginner guitarist but I feel like I'm often stuck with the same unoriginal, cliche chord progressions.
How do you stay away from boring repetitions of I, iii, IV and V chords?
All ideas, suggestions, techniques are welcome.
Old 07-22-2018, 02:25 PM

The familiar lures a person away from the unknown challenges awaiting on the fret board. This is up to you to figure out. What I might suggest you probably already know, being a somewhat seasoned player by your own admission. The music you might consider fresh is there waiting for you to take the leap and find it.
Old 07-22-2018, 02:37 PM

Are you talking about for songwriting or something?

Are you playing actual TUNES as part of learning the instrument?
Old 07-22-2018, 03:13 PM

You could try investigating patterns of intervals between chords. The simplest is probably a series of diatonic fourths. In the key of C this gets you

|C - - - |F- - - | B dim (you can use G7 instead) | Em - - - |Am - - - |Dm - - - |G7 - - - |C- - - |

Eight bars beginning and ending on C with a fourth interval between the chords. The same sequence beginning and ending on Am is worth trying. You might want to change the Em to E7 if you start and end on Am.
Old 07-22-2018, 05:28 PM

Consider making more mistakes (or any mistakes if you're really good). It only takes one misplaced finger, or playing the right chord at the wrong fret, and you're off on a whole new adventure.
Old 07-22-2018, 06:39 PM
Charter Member

Noodling around for ideas I like to play jazzy chords and to often
sequence chromatically. Like below where I start off with a
chromatic run up on the second string.

First chord to last:
5-x-6-6-5-x Amaj7
5-x-5-6-6-x A+7
x-5-7-6-7-x Dmaj7
6-x-6-7-8-x Bb13
5-x-6-6-5-x Amaj7
5-x-5-6-6-x A+7
x-5-7-6-7-x Dmaj7