The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 12-15-2023, 06:50 AM

Default Acoustic FX Pedals

Hi everyone,

I've recently purchased a Taylor GS Mini e-Koa Plus that I intend to use for gigging. I'm a live looping artist and have been using an electric guitar with an amplifier to access my FX for years.

I'm looking for some advice to purchase some new gear, and find the best way of setting things up. I'd like to keep things fairly minimal but I'd like to know what others would recommend in terms of acoustic preamps, DI's, reverbs etc, to achieve a decent sound before the loop pedal.

If you can help, it would be great to hear from you.

Many thanks.
Old 12-15-2023, 07:05 AM

Try any effects that you have. I like a little reverb and delay to add the ambiance in from the guitar
Old 12-15-2023, 06:37 PM

Experimentation is your best friend. You can seek the perfect "unplugged" tone, but that monster is elusive and usually unattainable. I'd say a good EQ is all that you need, if anything at all, to get a good tone. Something with gain, like the Baggs Align EQ has done well to shape my tone in various situations. It is more or less acting as a preamp and eq in my usage.

Beyond that, the sky is the limit. Delay, reverb, pitch shifting, whammy, chorus, flange, phase, trem, and even distortion. I mean, it is all fun flavoring.
Old 12-15-2023, 11:59 PM

LR Baggs Voiceprint DI
A volume pedal
A tuner
Your favorite reverb
A delay pedal
[Those plus a chorus pedal and looper are on my acoustic pedalboard]
Old 12-16-2023, 06:51 AM
Charter Member

I agree with the other comments^^

I have been through a few rigs and have found:
A quality PreAmp EQ is the anchor and center of great plugged in tone.

The effects that give me good ambient sound: Reverb, Delay, and looper.

The two different boards I use have the same fundamental presence and sound exceptional.