The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-12-2018, 09:52 AM
robj144 robj144 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,490
Default Midi recording question

Maybe no one here can help, but I'd figure I'd ask. I also might already know the answer to my question, but want to confirm.

When I record a "live" midi track using my midi keyboard WITHOUT any snapping or quantization, if I record at a high tempo and play it back, the midi track plays back at a different tempo and the articulations are different than what I played live. It sounds a lot different than how it played it live. However, when I play slower, it sounds exactly like what I played live. Is this because I'm playing at a tempo faster than the session tempo? I thought that only mattered when quantizing and the recorded tempo would just fit in the session tempo. Like if I recorded at 200 bpm and the session tempo was 100 bpm, it would just be two notes per beat but still play back normal like what was recorded. I thought that if quantizing was on, it would try to fit notes in to different spots and then it would sound different.

If anyone could help, that would be great. I tried to Google and found things that were similar, but not enough to answer my question.
__________________
Guild CO-2
Guild JF30-12
Guild D55
Goodall Grand Concert Cutaway Walnut/Italian Spruce
Santa Cruz Brazilian VJ
Taylor 8 String Baritone
Blueberry - Grand Concert
Magnum Opus J450
Eastman AJ815
Parker PA-24
Babicz Jumbo Identity
Walden G730
Silvercreek T170
Charvell 150 SC
Takimine G406s
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2018, 10:46 AM
KevWind's Avatar
KevWind KevWind is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edge of Wilderness Wyoming
Posts: 12,017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robj144 View Post
Maybe no one here can help, but I'd figure I'd ask. I also might already know the answer to my question, but want to confirm.

When I record a "live" midi track using my midi keyboard WITHOUT any snapping or quantization, if I record at a high tempo and play it back, the midi track plays back at a different tempo and the articulations are different than what I played live. It sounds a lot different than how it played it live. However, when I play slower, it sounds exactly like what I played live. Is this because I'm playing at a tempo faster than the session tempo? I thought that only mattered when quantizing and the recorded tempo would just fit in the session tempo. Like if I recorded at 200 bpm and the session tempo was 100 bpm, it would just be two notes per beat but still play back normal like what was recorded. I thought that if quantizing was on, it would try to fit notes in to different spots and then it would sound different.


If anyone could help, that would be great. I tried to Google and found things that were similar, but not enough to answer my question.
While many here do record only audio , there are also some people on this subform that record both midi and audio (like me), so help is quite possible

I may be able to help but first a bit more detailed info would be very helpful.

First are you recording audio and then midi or just all midi ?

What types of midi instruments are you recording ?

What DAW are you using?
Does it have ADC - automatic delay compensation ?

Are you using a click ?

Exactly what do you mean recording midi faster than the session tempo ? (unless you mean the tempo of already recorded audio)

Also how Quantizing behaves depends of the what type or setting is used .
Straight quantization moves mistimed notes to the closest grid line. Or (depending on DAW) you can set quantisation to vary the note placement to have a more humanized feel Or some DAWS offer capturing a live performance and quantizing the midi to that performance timing (It all depends on what features the DAW you are using has .

I'm guessing you are trying to record midi to already existing audio otherwise with all midi I don't see how timing could and issue as the midi performance should just lock to whatever tempo you designate regardless of what tempo you recorded it at

.
For example when I record midi drums I usually record it 1/2 the tempo I will want the finished session to be at, then when the midi drums are done I can just reset the session tempo and the drums are good to go
__________________
" Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding." Albert Einstein
Enjoy the Journey.... Kev...


KevWind at Soundcloud

Last edited by KevWind; 11-12-2018 at 12:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2018, 12:49 PM
robj144 robj144 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevWind View Post
While many here do record only audio , there are also some people on this subform that record both midi and audio (like me), so help is quite possible

I may be able to help but first a bit more detailed info would be very helpful.

First are you recording audio and then midi or just all midi ?

What types of midi instruments are you recording ?

What DAW are you using?
Does it have ADC - automatic delay compensation ?

Are you using a click ?

Exactly what do you mean recording midi faster than the session tempo ? (unless you mean the tempo of already recorded audio)

Also how Quantizing behaves depends of the what type or setting is used .
Straight quantization moves mistimed notes to the closest grid line. Or (depending on DAW) you can set quantisation to vary the note placement to have a more humanized feel Or some DAWS offer capturing a live performance and quantizing the midi to that performance timing (It all depends on what features the DAW you are using has .

I'm guessing you are trying to record midi to already existing audio otherwise with all midi I don't see how timing could and issue as the midi performance should just lock to whatever tempo you designate regardless of what tempo you recorded it at

.
For example when I record midi drums I usually record it 1/2 the tempo I will want the finished session to be at, then when the midi drums are done I can just reset the session tempo and the drums are good to go
Thanks.

I'm using Fruity Loops and it has ADC, but it records fine as is.

I'm trying to record all MIDI... no audio. The sessions have a tempo which can be set. For instance, it could be 120 bpm. When I record faster than 120 bpm, it seems to adjust to 120 bpm and it alters the recording. For slower music, it's fine and exactly like I recorded live.
__________________
Guild CO-2
Guild JF30-12
Guild D55
Goodall Grand Concert Cutaway Walnut/Italian Spruce
Santa Cruz Brazilian VJ
Taylor 8 String Baritone
Blueberry - Grand Concert
Magnum Opus J450
Eastman AJ815
Parker PA-24
Babicz Jumbo Identity
Walden G730
Silvercreek T170
Charvell 150 SC
Takimine G406s
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2018, 01:04 PM
muscmp muscmp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: socal
Posts: 8,124
Default

unless i'm misunderstanding, record at the tempo and not faster.

play music!
__________________

2014 Martin 00015M
2009 Martin 0015M
2008 Martin HD28
2007 Martin 000-18GE
2006 Taylor 712
2006 Fender Parlor GDP100
1978 Fender F65
1968 Gibson B25-12N
Various Electrics
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2018, 01:51 PM
KevWind's Avatar
KevWind KevWind is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edge of Wilderness Wyoming
Posts: 12,017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robj144 View Post
Thanks.

I'm using Fruity Loops and it has ADC, but it records fine as is.

I'm trying to record all MIDI... no audio. The sessions have a tempo which can be set. For instance, it could be 120 bpm. When I record faster than 120 bpm, it seems to adjust to 120 bpm and it alters the recording. For slower music, it's fine and exactly like I recorded live.
Humm well I am not familiar with FL so in a general sense it sounds like possibly a tempo automation issue

Still confused by what you mean "When I record faster" Again are you using a click to record to ?
Do you mean you set the tempo at say 120 but you simply play faster say start 1/4 notes and then switch playing say 16th notes ( if so it should play that back just fine at the set tempo)

Or do you mean you change tempo settings within the session? Where say you start recording at 120 for one section of the song and then reset the tempo meter to say 140 to record a new section ? if so , and if you are not setting tempo automation, then yes it will play at the original 120 no matter what setting you try later in the session

Or Do you mean that when you set the tempo meter faster than 120 it still seems to play back 120 ?
If that is case then the first thing to make sure is that you have not accidentally engaged tempo automation on that track which could be moving the tempo to 120 for playback no matter what you set the tempo meter to while recording , in that specific session ..

If it is only that session and there is no tempo automation on that track, then it could be a corrupted session file for just that session.
If it happens on all sessions and you are sure you do not have tempo automation on as some kind of default preference , then it could be an corrupted file for FL itself and you might try deleting FL and reinstalling it .
Beyond that I do not know but you might need to talk to FL support .
__________________
" Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding." Albert Einstein
Enjoy the Journey.... Kev...


KevWind at Soundcloud

Last edited by KevWind; 11-12-2018 at 04:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2018, 10:39 PM
DupleMeter DupleMeter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,085
Default

It sounds like it's still quantizing, from what you describe. There may not be a way to totally turn it off in your sequencer. I don't know for sure.

Best bet is to play at the tempo set in the sequencer. Use a tap tempo metronome to figure the tempo you want. Set the sequencer to that tempo. Play along to a click when you record.

Sequencers, by nature, are tempo based. Everything they do relies on the tempo you set in the project. It almost does't make sense to defeat that feature...since all editing features will become useless if they can't lock to the grid.

HTH
__________________
-Steve
My Website

Too many acoustic & electric guitars, basses, mandolins, violins, dulcimers, trumpets & percussion instruments to list.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=