The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 08-06-2022, 07:57 PM

Default Quiet Time for Recording

How to you find it. How do you deal with the interrurptions of life?
Fraulini Erma #19
Old 08-06-2022, 09:02 PM
Charter Member

It’s really tough. I can hear the road noise outside my house. It relatively quiet, though, unless it’s a truck or a Hot Dog whizzing by.

For me it’s also the space. Our large room is the best place to avoid flutter echo, and my wife prefers to have clutter out of the way (not complaining here; I benefit too from having a tidy house.

But for noise, I use close mics, about 9 inches from the guitar. This keep the signal/noise ratio high enough that I don’t hear noise in the recording. But I’m an amateur/hack; I’m not recording Abbey Road.

I record vocals in my wife’s closet, surrounded by hanging clothes.

Or, did you mean quiet TIME itself? Time without other demands, time with no hard endpoints? I suppose you could do like the later Beatles and record in the wee hours. That would take its toll on your sleep hygiene, but would solve the other problem.
2019 Martin D-18, LR Baggs Element VTC
2021 Gibson 50s J-45 Original, LR Baggs Element VTC
Old 08-07-2022, 03:03 AM

Late evening and weekend morning have been working for me.
Larrivee: CS09 Matt Thomas Limited
Taylor: 314ce, 356e, Baritone 8
Timberline: T60HGc
Old 08-07-2022, 06:00 AM

My studio is a finished room in an isolated place in the walkout side of our basement. No one bothers me in there, and the traffic noise isn't really much of a bother there.

Gibson SJ200
Taylor Grand Symphony
Taylor 514CE-NY
Taylor 814CE Deluxe V-Class
Guild F1512
Alvarez DY74 Snowflake ('78)
Old 08-07-2022, 08:56 AM

This has been an increasing issue for me over the past couple of years. I have technical mitigations, but no complete relief. I've been recording on a very aggressive timetable for the past six years.