The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 11-30-2021, 07:04 PM

Default Question for you Gretsch Electromatic fans

I've decided that a Gretsch Electromatic of some flavor will be my next electric guitar (which I need about as much as I need to be axed in the head, but that's beside the point).

At this point, I've narrowed it down to the G5422T or the G5622T. As I understand it, the 5422 provides more sparkle and clarity on the clean tones but can get about as gritty as you could want for blues or classic rock (I'm NOT talking metal here). The 5622, on the other hand, sacrifices some of the sparkle and clarity for more sustain and much better feedback resistance due to the centerblock. (I'm not a gigging musician, so feedback isn't much of a concern to me.)

Also, the 5622 seems to be about a pound heavier on average than the 5422 (due to the centerblock), but is about 3/4 inch shallower in depth than the 5422.

Finally, all the current 5622's seem to be made in China, whereas the 5422's seem to be made in Korea. That by itself pretty much seals the deal for me in favor of the 5422 unless there's something I'm missing. I already own a semi-hollowbody single-cutaway guitar (Epiphone AlleyKat), so I favor the idea of the full hollowbody double-cutaway 5422.

Before I decide, I'd sure appreciate all feedback and opinions.
Old 11-30-2021, 07:10 PM
Charter Member

Hi GP,

I just want you to know I agree 100% with your thinking!

I really like the 5420TG at Sweetwater here.

I play electric guitar in my studio, so I also am not concerned about feedback issues. I love the sound of these 5420 guitars!

- Glenn
Old 11-30-2021, 09:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoPappy View Post