The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 09-08-2015, 01:58 AM

Default iPad as electric guitar amp

I am pretty new to the electric guitar game - as a matter of fact I don't even own an electric guitar, but I have borrowed one (an Ibanez Prestige model of some sort) and I am contemplating buying one before too long (maybe an Epiphone ES-339 Pro, or maybe something else).

Of course, for an electric guitar I will also need some kind of amp. But funds are limited, and I was wondering if I could make do with an iPad/GarageBand/headphones solution to begin with. Does anyone have experience with this kind of setup? Is it feasible (or even possible)?

Any input will be appreciated - and bear in mind that I am a complete newbie!

Thanks
Old 09-08-2015, 06:49 AM

I bought an iRig, and used it with the "Ampkit" app. Seemed to work quite well. You can spend a lot of money upgrading Ampkit, but the stock free version is pretty flexible.

The iRig recommended "Amplitude", as I recall, but it didn't work well for me.....Lots of cut-outs and noise.

For 129.00, you can get the Apogee Jam, which goes into the multi-pin slot on the iPad and promises better sound.... I have not tried that. (As much as a cheap amp.....)
Old 09-08-2015, 12:29 PM

I've used the Ik multimedia Aplitube option. The main caveat I'd mention is if you try this route, then to utilize the Irig HD rather than the original I-rig. The HD uses the 30 pin or lightning port rather than the headphone jack like the original. The sound quality is night and day in my opinion.