The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 09-29-2020, 05:37 AM

Default Alternative to Neumann KM84

Hi there, everybody!

I would like to have one small diaphragm condenser micrpophone (or even a large diaphragm) to record my acoustic guitar (a Martin HD28 from 2005). The sound I'm after is a warm one, similar to the Neumann KM84 (not the younger brother, KM184, that is too harsh for my taste).

Do you guys have any advice on some affordable ones to get? Thank you!

2005 Martin HD28 with K&K Trinity;
2012 Cordoba C10;
Grace Design Felix 2;
Sennheiser MD441;
DPA 4099 Core;
DPA 4018L;
Bose L1 Compact;
QSC Touchmix 8;
QSC K10.2;
Neumann u87ai;
Neumann KMS105;
Neumann KM184 (matched pair).

http://www.youtube.com/rodrigopandelo
http://www.rodrigopandelo.com
http://www.instagram.com/rodrigopandelo

São Paulo/Brazil
Old 09-29-2020, 07:06 AM
Guest 33123

I have no real world experience so deleted...

Last edited by Guest 33123; 09-29-2020 at 12:25 PM.
Old 09-29-2020, 08:02 AM
Charter Member

What is your realistic budget range

I have not used any BUT
There are several companies that are building mic's purported to be based on the vaunted 84 (albeit many experienced engineers will caution 84's all sounded slightly different)

That said :
In the value price range Warm Audio offers their take on the 84

Me personally (if you can swing it budget wise) I would seriously consider a stereo pair and probably go for the premium pair, with omni as well as cardioid capsules

https://www.sweetwater.com/c105--War...8gMTZtbSkiXX19

At just over $1k each http://www.pelusomicrophonelab.com/microphones/P-84.html

Likely others if you google Neumann KM 84 clone

KevWind at Soundcloud

KevWind at YouYube
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...EZxkPKyieOTgRD

System :
Studio system Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2023.12 -Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen ,, Ventura 13.2.1