The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 11-24-2020, 01:35 PM

Default Considering a replacement for my Yamaha FG800

Hello all. First post here, but I've been reading and lurking for years. My apologies if I make any mis-steps; please correct me if I'm violating any forum rules/norms.

About two years ago I started playing again after a long break, and picked up a Yamaha FG800. It's been a really great guitar, and I still prefer its sound to many other guitars that are much more expensive. However, I recently got a Spanish/classical nylon-string guitar and have found the thicker, wider neck and generous string spacing to be much more comfortable for me. I can still play the Yamaha fine, but I do realize that it feels a bit cramped at times.

So, long story short, I'm considering replacing the Yamaha with a different guitar that has a thicker, wider neck and wider string spacing. Please note that I'm not in a position currently to add another guitar; it will be '1 in and 1 out'.

Question 1: Should I seek out a replacement steel-string? I'm ambivalent since I like the sound of the Yamaha.

Question 2: What guitars should I be looking at? Some information that may help:
  • I play a mix of fingerstyle and strumming, lately not using a pick/plectrum much.
  • I'd like a wide, thick neck with generous string spacing. The wider and thicker the better.
  • I'm compatible with any body shape, but I'd prefer something on the larger end (dreadnought/000/OM).
  • I'm not sure how to describe what tone I'm looking for. I haven't loved the lower-end Taylors I've played, if that helps.
  • I don't want a cutaway or electronics. I don't play up the neck regularly, so even a 12-fretter could work.
  • Budget is low - under $500, preferably as much under as possible.