The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 03-15-2019, 02:17 PM

Default Need advice on picking out a new guitar

Hi all,

I just started learning (about 4 months ago, currently taking lessons) and playing the acoustic guitar.

I own a Yamaha FG830 dreadnought guitar and I am currently looking to purchase another guitar in a different guitar body shape.
(eventually I want to upgrade my Yamaha FG830 to a nicer guitar Like a Martin D-18)

Since I am just starting I am not sure what style of playing I want to pursue, I would like to experiment with all three (flat-picking, strumming, finger-style). They all sound good and have their different purposes. So I was hoping to find a guitar that is a good multi purpose one. But since I have a dreadnought guitar (Yamaha FG830) already, which could be used for flat picking. The new one could lean towards strumming and finger-style playing but, maybe with an emphasis on finger-style. I have been looking at a lot of different guitars in the OM, Grand Auditorium, Grand Symphony...etc body styles. But I seem to be having a hard time deciding which brand and model because, to me they all sound so good. I know playing a guitar before purchase is an important factor in choosing one you like, but some of the ones I have been looking at are not stocked at the guitar stores around me. Below you will find a list of the ones I have been looking at and I also listed some important specifications that I am looking for In a guitar.

I was just wondering if anyone could give some feedback on the ones I have listed below(quality, play ability, sound, workmanship....etc.) or suggest ones that are not listed.

Thank you for your time and help.

Guitars of interest:

Martin:
OM-18

Larrivee:
OM-05
OM-40

Taylor:
514ce

Washburn:
Woodline G110SWCE (WLG110SWCEK)

Seagull:
Maritime SWS Concert Hall CW Semi-Gloss QIT

Eastman:
AC522CE