The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 01-30-2022, 08:28 AM

Default So My Nails Aren’t Great..

I am a beginner at classical guitar. I’m growing my nails out and already realizing that they are thin and flimsy, but even worse, kinda hooked on the end. Pretty much everything that one wouldn’t want for playing guitar. I’ve been taking biotin and a multi-vitamin for awhile now. That is as far as I have gotten. I’ve prowled around the net, searching for tips, but wanted to pose the problem here, for ideas. I really don’t want to do completely fake nails. Outside of that, I’m open to anything, to help make my natural nails functional for guitar playing. Thnx.
Old 01-30-2022, 08:57 AM

I’m in the same boat, OPJ77. I had to quit playing Clawhammer Banjo for the same reason. Since then, I’ve just been keeping my nails very short. One can play classical guitar with his/her bare fingers though. I guess it depends on how old one is. I’m an old guy so it won’t matter so much to play with short nails, but if you’re young and just starting out — I dunno. Maybe you’ll want to rethink playing CG.
Old 01-30-2022, 09:11 AM
Charter Member

There have been classical players who use flesh. Do what works for you.

I am a beginner and looking into nails as well, for classical and steel. My nails aren’t great, but I am not going the fake nail route.

So far, short nails seem ok. I have read a little on a myrrh oil cuticle treatment some people swear by. Who knows.

Also, I did see a lesson on nail care that suggested using a piece of very fine sand paper folded over a guitar string. You then pluck gently a whole lot to let this smooth the contact side of the nail.

This helps prevent the nail catching on the string and so far works well. I presume this also helps preserve the nail. A smooth glide over the sting will sound better, feel better and be less damaging.