The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 09-07-2020, 06:09 AM

Default Effective practice schedule for the enthusiastic beginner ?

Effective practice schedule for the enthusiastic beginner ?

As a total beginner, no previous experience.

I have been at this a good 4 months seriously, i am not unhappy with my progress, and i am impatient, but not overly so, my biggest fear is wasted practice time, or ingraining bad habits.

I have read thread after thread, watched numerous YouTube videos on the subject, and gone through lectures on guitar tricks covering practice, and although it mainly makes sense, some things don’t

I have weekly in person 30min sessions with a teacher.

The process so far has been:

1. Started with exercises, similar to the spider crawl but from frets 7-10, up and down the strings, alternate picking, and then repeat from pinky frets 10-7. (I was supposed to use a metronome but have only recently started using it every single day, as it put me off totally and was overwhelming the first few months)
2. Picking technique various songs, we started with one song, one section, and simply use my fingers along one string, making sure my alternate picking was spot on
3. Picking technique advanced to 2 strings and moving fret to fret
4. Now we started finger picking, i am practicing portions of a song, moving from one shape to the next shape in 4 sequences.

We haven’t delved into chords yet, and such.

So every week i have 1-2 things to work on. The next week expands on that.

Now down to my actual questions:

I practice this daily for roughly 45-60 min straight every AM. (Metronome, and whatever material i have to work on, i alternate between exercises and working on material during the hour,as i get bored or frustrated)