The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 05-15-2018, 07:37 AM

Default preamp DI/ effects loop question

I’m looking for help in understanding something. I have some live sound experience but mostly tweaking my own gear on stage and not so much at the FOH. I have always used an active pickup through a passive DI and really hated the quality of my tone. Since that time I researched a great deal in order to improve in this area and have had successes at home (of course it involved upgrades in my gear as well). I ended up going with a passive pickup (K&K PW) and have been running this through an active DI (Fishman Platinum Stage). My tone has improved greatly but I’m not sure the Fishman is the final stop. I’m really intrigued by the Redeye and Redeye Twin especially since I use effects.

So now my question: I suspect that if you are using a passive pickup you want to run that signal through a preamp first in order to get the maximum signal to the front of the chain for better effects processing. Isn’t that kind of the whole reason for an effects loop? To run the signal hot through the effects and then back into the DI and pushing the wet signal to the FOH? The only other way I can see the chain with the equipment I have would be guitar effects Fishman Stage FOH. That method seems to me that a very weak signal would be pushed through the effects only then to be boosted at the DI just before going to the FOH. I guess what I’m asking is, “wouldn’t my tone be better with an effects loop and do I need to re-evaluate what I’m using at the DI stage?”

While I understand that it is empowering to experiment, I don’t have the equipment on hand to do so. Since my Pre/DI does not have an effects loop I have no choice but to see if some of you have first-hand experience. Might help me understand the importance (or not) of a new DI purchase!
Old 05-15-2018, 08:16 AM