The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 05-12-2018, 09:44 PM

Default Behringer Xenyx 502 Mixer makes for a Great Practice Tool

I recently purchased this mixer, the smallest and least expensive mixer that Behringer sells. It has 3 channels with two being stereo capable. Channel 1 can be used for a dedicated XLR or line-in mic or the line-in for a guitar. This channel also has a 2 band EQ, a pre-amp and gain control. All channels have balance and level controls. It also has RCA inputs and outputs, but I have no use for those. I have no experience with specialized Audio equipment, so this was a first time purchase of this type for me. I use it to play along with my MP3 player because my amp doesn't have an aux input. I have a pickup I use in my FG800. Using this helps me work on my timing and allows me to increase my guitar volume relative to the track I'm playing so I can hear myself better. After a few uses I think I finally have the settings where I want them. I can also plug in headphones late at night and not bother anyone. It that way it sort of doubles as a headphone amp which is a nice side benefit. It's a lot of fun to use and it provides me with more motivation as I enjoy playing along to songs. Both ones that I'm trying to learn and ones I already know. It's a fairly basic mixer, certainly not top-of-the-line pro quality, but for my purposes here at home it suits me just fine. And it was only $40.
Old 05-13-2018, 06:51 AM

If you have a great home stereo system, you ought to try those rca outs and patch in to that. That was my "PA" for the first year or two.

I have the 802 mixer. They are nice little mixers. Practicing while plugged in is good so as to amplify your mistakes and correct them early on rather than playing for years making subtle mistakes and not being able to hear them.
Old 05-13-2018, 07:00 AM