The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 11-13-2010, 01:14 PM

Default Amps for nylon string guitars

Hi,

Do you know of any amp that is specifically designed for nylon string guitars?

There is the AER classic, but it costs more than 1000$.

For around 300$ (used) what amp would you buy.

Maybe this topic was already covered, I am fairly new to this forum and I can't get through all the previous messages...).

Regards,
Antzoul
Old 11-13-2010, 03:22 PM

I just bought a Behringer ACX-450 and am very pleased with it though I have no experience with amplified acoustics. It has some features that I may not use much; feedback limiter and multiple selectable and adjustable effects with on/off foot pedal.

I searched and asked this forum and compiled a list of 15 amps ranging from $70 to over $1600. I got down to the Behringer and a Roland AC-60. The Behringer was 1/3 the price of the Roland.

I play a Taylor NS-34CE through it. So far the major impact is accentuating my mistakes! I play about 50% fo the time without the amp.
2010 Taylor NS-34-CE
Old 11-15-2010, 06:52 AM

I have the Roland Microcube for my Yamaha SLG 100N and it really works well! Great sound, small and very portable, and not very expensive!

Phoenix Guitar Co. Custom Classical Guitar
Rainsong Shorty FLE
Pre Peavey Cargo
Old 11-15-2010, 10:21 AM

Default Ultrasound

Take a look at the AG-30, I did!
Old 11-15-2010, 09:29 PM
Charter Member

I bought my Shertler David because of reviews by instrumentalists including nylon players. It works great and, with a little effort, can be found pretty reasonable priced.
Old 11-15-2010, 10:56 PM