The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 04-30-2010, 11:20 AM

Default Alhambra CS-3 Crossover: Opinions?

Hi.
I'm not a proper Classical guitarist, but I do play a classical as my main guitar (a La Patrie Concert CW). I've always preferred the sound of nylon strings, and the wider necks on classicals. Stylistically, I probably come at things from a bit more of a Latin perspective (Bossa Nova, Samba, etc). I've had my La Patrie for a few years, and feel I am ready to upgrade a bit, to an all-solid wood model, with nicer electronics. Am currently looking at the Alhambra CS-3 Crossover:

http://www.classical-guitars-plus.co...assical+Guitar

Does anyone have any thoughts or opinions on this guitar? Perhaps one of you HAS one? If so, how do you like it? Might anyone have a suggestion for a similar guitar, by another manufacturer, that might be worth my consideration? For example, are the Taylor nylon models any good? My local Guitar Center does not carry them, so I can't try them out (in fact, in the San Francisco area, it is hard to find ANY place that has a decent range of classical/nylon-string guitars. Guitar Center's selection of classicals is incredibly limited. Haight-Ashbury Music Center is a bit better, but not comprehensive). The Alhambra offers a choice of Solid Cedar or Solid Spruce top. I must confess, I'm not used to the idea of a Spruce top on a classical guitar, but it IS a hybrid, so I guess I can consider it. What are your thoughts on this (or anything else I've mentioned)? I welcome your thoughts & suggestions.

-Eric
Old 04-30-2010, 11:33 AM

Hi Eric,