The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 11-28-2018, 09:38 PM

Default First Microphone Recommendation

I’m putting together a starter home recording studio for myself. I’m a beginner Acoustic guitar player with about 6 months of lessons, retired and am doing this to help myself improve. Recently purchased Stienburg UR22 mkII interface and a pair of JBL 305P monitors.
I’m looking for a decent mike that doesn’t cost too much. I’ve read about the Rode NT1-A. It seems to be liked by most. I’ll be recording acoustic guitar and vocals. Wondering if you would recommend something else or is this about the best I can do for about $200. TIA

Last edited by jschmitz54; 11-28-2018 at 11:50 PM.
Old 11-28-2018, 11:44 PM

You're going to get just about as many recommendations for mics as there are people who respond. But I think you should get 2 mics, not one, so you can record acoustic guitar in stereo.

Here are 2 for $200, and they're are good as any for the price, in my opinion.

https://www.audio-technica.com/cms/w...0e2/index.html
Old 11-29-2018, 08:04 AM

For your intended purpose, you don't need to use 2 mics, it would just further complicate the learning curve. 2-mic acoustic guitar recording is very good for solo guitar recordings or 1guitar + 1 voice recordings - when you are producing recordings for others to listen to.
If you get an LDC (large diaphragm condenser) mic, make sure it comes with a shock mount. The NT1A is a little over your budget, but is not a bad choice.
Audio Technical AT2035, AKG P220 (on sale right now at Sweetwater - very good deal) or P420 would be other choices.

My music: https://mikebirchmusic.bandcamp.com

2020 Taylor 324ceBE
2017 Taylor 114ce-N
2012 Taylor 310ce
2011 Fender CD140SCE
Ibanez 12 string a/e
73(?) Epiphone 6830E 6 string

72 Fender Telecaster
Epiphone Dot Studio
Epiphone LP Jr
Chinese Strat clone

Kala baritone ukulele
Seagull 'Merlin'