The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 05-07-2021, 10:53 AM

Default Keys Different for Guitar and Bass?

Hello, I am new to the forum and have a question about key signatures. I have been playing for a few years and took about a year's worth of lessons but had to quit a while back. I play guitar and my husband has picked up the bass (electric) and we are hoping to play some simple songs together.

The problem is, I can find music for a song for bass, but it is in a different key than the music for the guitar. We want to play Elvis' "All Shook Up." His sheet music is in key of A, while mine is in Bb. How do I resolve this difference?

I did have one lesson about transposing keys, and I can (very very slowly) change each note in one or the other, but is this how everybody does it? I know I can use a capo to change the key on the guitar, but I found a transposition chart and it doesn't look like I could change from Bb to A or vice-versa using a capo.

I've searched high and low but I don't find much talk about this problem, so I'm thinking it must be something simple that I'm missing. Can anyone help?
Old 05-07-2021, 11:21 AM

I use www.ultimate-guitar.com for most of the covers I play and they have a super handy transposer for every song they have, so picking the same key on both instruments should give you the chords you are looking for. I'm sure there are other ways, but this one is easy and they have a TON of chord/tab for both guitar and bass.
Old 05-07-2021, 11:41 AM
Charter Member