The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 01-08-2022, 02:15 PM

Default Video File Size?

I have some experience in amateur audio recording, but I'm just now getting into video. I took a 39 second video on my Canon Rebel T3i, and it amounted to 237 MB! Is that typical? Should I care? That's with the resolution set to 1920x1080 and 24 fps. Obviously I could get a smaller file size with a smaller resolution setting, but do I want to do that? I guess the key question is, can one compress a video file similar to how a .wav can be compressed to an mp3 (or m4a)? Or does one just have to deal with these huge file sizes if one's going to be messing around with video?

Come to think of it, I did import this video into iMovie, stripped off its soundtrack, and added a .wav that I had, and the whole thing ended up 99 MB, so iMovie obviously compressed it. It went from an .MOV to an .mp4. I don't think I reduced the resolution setting in iMovie. (I guess that answers my own question?)

Anyway, is there anything I'm not "getting" about these super-large file sizes for videos?

2018 Guild F-512 Sunburst -- 2007 Guild F412 Ice Tea burst
2002 Guild JF30-12 Whiskeyburst -- 2011 Guild F-50R Sunburst
2011 Guild GAD D125-12 NT -- 
1972 Epiphone FT-160 12-string
2012 Epiphone Dot CH
 -- 2010 Epiphone Les Paul Standard trans amber 

2013 Yamaha Motif XS7

Cougar's Soundcloud page
Old 01-08-2022, 02:25 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCCougar View Post