The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 12-11-2021, 06:13 AM

Default Mandocello Players

Any mandocello players out there? I have often wanted to learn at least the basics of another instrument, even though I will always be working on the guitar, as that journey is never over.
Old 12-11-2021, 06:57 AM

I've been playing mandocello for several years. My current is my 10 string custom F4, redwood top and maple back, sides and neck. Octave pairs on the C, G and D courses.

I flat pick and finger pick it.
Old 12-11-2021, 08:04 AM

I know this is a difficult question to answer since you don't know me - how difficult would you rank the learning curve from guitar to the mandocello? 1 to 10 - 1 being easy and 10 being really difficult.
Old 12-11-2021, 08:35 AM

I'm not the best judge of difficulty. I started on violin when I was 10 and guitar when I was 13. I started mandolin in my 40's. Mandolin is tuned just like a violin, in 5ths GDAE. Mandocello is an octave and 5th lower CGDA (just llike a cello).

Because I played violin and was used to picking guitar, I was instantly playing mandolin from the moment I picked it up. When I decided to play octave mandolin (just a whole octave below mandolin) the only adjustment was a 21" scale vs 15". When I added mandocello the scale expanded to 25" and I added a low C and dropped the E.

So it was an evolutionary progression for me.

Going from guitar to mandocello, the first thing is the extra stretch. On guitar the 5th fret on one string brings you to the next open string. On the mandocello its the 7th fret. Chords are completely different. You can do a lot with just 3 or even 2 course chords. Lots of moveable shapes too. And the 5ths tuning is intuitive and symetric - a C chord on the A and D strings becomes an F when shifted down (lower) to the G and D. Move it down to the C and G and its a Bb.