The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 04-17-2018, 05:25 AM

Default I'm On Fire. Feedback would be truly appreciated!

Hey guys!

Just recorded a little acoustic version of Bruce Springsteen's I'm on Fire.

Thought you might like it, or at least give me some feedback.

Just did this one recording so the playing is a bit flakey since I just started playing it yesterday, but it might add some charm hehe !

Thanks in advance..

Recorded on a Zoom H2n btw

Regards,

Marc

Seagull Performer CW Concert Hall Burnt Umber

Norman B-20

Last edited by theflink; 04-17-2018 at 06:04 AM.
Old 04-17-2018, 05:57 AM
Charter Member

Not a Springsteen fan myself, but I see this as a credible performance of the tune like I might expect to hear someone play on a solo acoustic gig.

The positives are that it is a recognizable song and the vocals capture the flavor of the original; the timbre of the vocal conveys angst and mystery about the vocalist that makes me want to hear what else this guy does. At this point I would sit down and order a beer. The negatives are that there are elements missing, some of which cannot be replicated by a solo artist: the slower tempo, the absence of the percussion track and some fill in the turn-arounds, and of course, the yodeling - all conspire to make the song more static than dynamic. Having said that, at a minimum I would suggest the addition of some sort of up the neck fills between the verses and in the outro.
Old 04-17-2018, 06:03 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nymuso View Post
Not a Springsteen fan myself, but I see this as a credible performance of the tune like I might expect to hear someone play on a solo acoustic gig.