The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 04-15-2021, 07:54 PM

Default Help needed on recording audio on iPhone

As a total novice on acoustic guitar recording, I would appreciate advice on audio recording to iPhone videos.

I currently have a Neumann 184 to a Grace Design Felix that goes to my acoustic amp. I have used a Shure MV88 to record from amp but not quite the results I would like.

Between the Felix and iPhone, I would like to have the ability to add effects such as reverb, etc. And I would need to have an A/D interface to generate a digital signal that would be compatible with an iPhone/iPad.

What gear would work well for this application. Your advice is appreciated.

Dennis
Guild F-512
Yamaha FG-200
Old 04-16-2021, 06:43 AM

Hi Dennis.

You can record your audio with your phone, but you'll find the common advice is to do the video and audio separately and combine them with a editing program on your computer. It gives you a TON more flexibility and allows you to not burn in mistakes that can't be addressed if you record them simultaneously.

Here's a recent topic that deals with the process.

https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/...d.php?t=610685
Old 04-16-2021, 10:17 AM

Many thanks Rudy.
Guild F-512
Yamaha FG-200
Old 04-20-2021, 10:18 AM
Charter Member

Using a Shure MV88+ with a 6' lightning connector extension cord allowed me to record with the mic close to an acoustic amp and the phone at a decent position to record the video. It would be an inexpensive alternative for you since you already have the MV88 (the MV88+ is designed to be used separate from the phone).
Old 04-20-2021, 12:12 PM

Thanks Jim. I have used the MV-88 in the configuration you recommended, although the recorded audio seems to lack a bit of presence. As I use a mic for recording, the amp can't be too loud to avoid feedback.