The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-25-2022, 01:42 PM

Default I want to play Fingerstyle...should I learn flatpicking first?

I am a total newbie to guitar. I have a bit of bluegrass banjo experience so thumb and finger picks are familiar to me.

Should I continue to learn with a flat pick and then learn fingerpicking styles?

I really like the Tommy Emmanuel and Doyle Dykes styles.

And if there are courses for this can anyone recommend one for a 74-year-old beginner?

I am currently doing the Justinguitar lessons. Really enjoying my two-week-old journey with him.

Thanks for any help with this.
Old 04-25-2022, 01:46 PM

If you are already familiar with fingerstyle from playing banjo start with that. Then after a short time start flatpicking.
2019 Takamine GD93
2022 Takamine GJ72CE 6-String
2022 Cort GA-QF CBB
1963 Gibson SG
2016 Kala uke
Dean A style mandolin. (Year unknown)
Lotus L80 (1984ish)
Plus a few lower end I have had for years
Old 04-25-2022, 01:46 PM

I would make sure I'm smooth on changing chords before I dove into anything more.
Gibson J200
Furch MC Yellow Gc-CR SPA
Guild G212
Eastman E2OM-CD
Old 04-25-2022, 01:48 PM
Charter Member

Since you already have some experience with your left hand might as well jump right in the deep end of the pond.

If you like books/recordings Mark Hanson has several. Intro to Travis Picking is where a lot of us started.

If you are a video learner Toby Walker has a good intro to finger picking lesson on his website.

You are going to get tons of suggestions. These were the 2 I used for my first 7 months or so. Then I found a teacher for one on one lessons. That is your best bet if it is doable. Good luck, it is a long road but doable and very satisfying.
Old 04-25-2022, 02:01 PM
Charter Member