The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 12-31-2017, 10:50 AM

Default Help with Writing Music

My musical resolution has begun. For a few years now I've been wanting to get my instrumentals on paper. I'd like to add that one of the reasons for doing this is that I know someone who plays flute, really well. I feel that my acoustic playing along with the flute, in parts, will make a great combination. Any thoughts on this.??

So let me tell you where I'm at... I've never done this before and I don't read music. The flute player reads music.

I have an entire song written out on paper; A=A, A#=A sharp etc., etc. How do I get this onto paper in musical notation.?? Is the term Transcribed.??

For now, if a note holds sustain, I put a sort of long dash after the note. Get the picture.??....

Further more, I'll provide her with a recording of my playing it and we will sit together and work things out.

I'm thinking there are some great suggestions here. I'd appreciate any.
Thanks.
Old 12-31-2017, 11:33 AM

Default Big job

Respectfully

1. Sign up at your nearest community college that offers music for a fundamentals class.

2. Get a notation program like Finale and learn how to use it. There is a free version. That way you can play back what you enter in real time.

3. There are no shortcuts to writing music short of paying someone to notate it for you.

I haven't tried it but Finale will convert standard notation to TAB and I think it will also do the reverse.

"If you try to play like someone else, Who will play like you". Quote from Johnny Gimble

The only musician I have to impress today is the musician I was yesterday.

No tubes, No capos, No Problems.
Old 12-31-2017, 11:48 AM

Laughing.... I knew #1 would be posted up before I could x out.... Laughing.

Thanks buddy.

Now to use a program like Finale, would I have to learn to read music.?? I'm thinking yes.??