The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 06-21-2021, 06:45 AM

Default Music Theory

So I've been playing on and off for about 13 years. In the last three years I've taken it more seriously. As a consequence my technical skills have improved markedly. I'm no shredder but I can play quickly and fluently and have most of the other technical skills in my toolbox.

The downside is that I know next to nothing about music theory. I've felt this increasingly limiting. So I've bitten the bullet and bought Guitar Theory for Dummies.

Is there anyone else who hasn't got a clue about Dorian and Myxilodian, etc, etc? Anyone like me but not at all interested in learning a bit of theory or feel it wouldn't be beneficial?

Anyone believe that a minimum of theoretical knowledge is required for progress?
Old 06-21-2021, 07:09 AM
Charter Member

I think it's good to know about it. I do think that learning how to apply it is what makes it worth while. I don't think spending allot of effort, time and energy learning all the scales makes much sense. Knowing how it works does have it benefits so when you want to achieve some musical goal and don't know how to get there you know where and what to look for to make it happen. When I first started looking into different scales I thought most of them sounded like crap. And they are. On their own. Music dictates the scale, scales don't dictate the music.

Follow The Yellow Brick Road
Old 06-21-2021, 07:11 AM
Charter Member

I took a college class in music theory which taught me some really good fundamentals.

Understanding scales and chord theory was very helpful in understanding what I'm playing.

But, unless you are composing or playing improv at a jazz cut, I think the rest is a bit over-emphasized. When learning a song, no one ever tries to analyze if its Dorian or Mixolydian. And even knowing every scale isn't needed either.