The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 11-20-2002, 10:16 AM

Default chromatic scale

how can it be applied while improvising? I've read pieces on this and really don't understand fully what the power of this scale is...it seems, well, rather non-mmelodic...

I am self-taught and know some theory in regard to chords scales and modes, but I'm wanting to get out of a rut with the few solos i do with my band....I know what a chromatic scale is (a 12 note scale containg all of the sharps and flats and whole note)...but i'm wondering how to master and apply it to create melodies and things...

i hope I'm making sense...this was on my mind after reading some jazz theory articles online...

Last edited by CDT; 11-20-2002 at 03:06 PM.
Old 11-20-2002, 06:36 PM

Smile

Jamey Aeborsold....ugh....I'll be back....

horn players breathe....

breathing is good...
Indeed, there is something in the current DC/NY culture that equates a lack of unthinking boosterism with a lack of patriotism. As if not being drunk on the latest Dow gains is somehow un-American. - Arianna Huffington May 11, 2009
Old 11-20-2002, 07:56 PM

Smile

ugga bugga..

ok...

without hesitation (possibly) ((well, that doesn't make much sense daddy....?!?!???!) I would suggest you get Volume 24 Major and Minor and Volume 1 How to Play Jazz and Improvise from Jamey Aeborsold...

...go to

www.jajazz.com

they're in the play - a - long section...(note that the numbering order does not follow the suggested order of study....

Vol 24,1,21,2,54,3,5, etc...is the suggested order....

I've only got volumes 24,1, and 3.....wish I had more but lingerie is a budget killer....

and to top it off....

this bonobo can shred things faster than an Enron executive...

anyways....

the possible hesitation is....

con't.....