The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 01-18-2001, 03:54 PM

Location: Not where I thought I was going, but probably where I need to be.
Question DADGAD

As I am new to the realm of fingerstyle I have a simple question. What is the benefit of the DADGAD alternate tuning? I assume there is an ergonomic benefit, but what is it? Are certain common fingerstyle chordal progressions easier to play? If so, what are they? I always wonder how people come up with these alternate tunings.
Old 01-18-2001, 04:59 PM

There are various reasons why alternate tunings are used. It can give a song a different feel since now you able to play low notes that weren't there in standard tuning and let open strings ring out. Open tunings also allow you to keep a constant bass line going without requiring you to use a lot of fingers. You then can use the freed up fingers to play the melody and harmonies that would be impossible to play if 2 of your fingers were anchored down playing the bass line.

In DADGAD, the 2nd string is only a major 2nd above the third string. Playing the 2nd string on any fret while simultaneously playing the 3rd string but fretting this string two frets higher than the 2nd string, you get a 12 string effect since both notes you are playing are indentical. A very good example of this is Zep's 'Kashmir'. DADGAD is also neither a major or a minor tuning since it lacks a third unlike Open G or D. Basically you can play both minor and major keys in this tuning while with open G, you basically have to stick to major keys. This is a big reason why a lot of fingerstylist are attracted to this tuning.

GL
Old 01-18-2001, 07:04 PM

Thanks for the info GL. I knew that there was some logic behind it.
Old 01-23-2001, 05:21 PM