The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 12-02-2020, 10:04 AM

Default Recommendations for private instructor (preferably in the Phoenix area)

I'm a 50-year old advanced beginner and if I want to become a better player, it's now or never. I'm opting for now.

I'm looking for an instructor that will help me become a better player and singer. I know how to strum out songs from a chord chart, can do a bit of fingerpicking, and have a pretty good voice. What I need is someone who can teach me music theory with an emphasis on the fretboard, and help me develop good technique. I'm interested in bluegrass, folk, Americana music. I know a bit of theory like tonic/dominant and relative major/minor chords, but only in the basic keys like G and C. I want to expand my knowledge but I don't know how to get there.

I know that most teachers are online right now and that's fine, but I'd prefer to have someone I can meet with face to face once the pandemic is in the rear-view mirror.

Cost is really not a consideration as long as we aren't talking $90/hour or something. I just need someone who can identify my weaknesses, offer practical solutions, and hold me accountable. I've been self-taught for my whole life and I'm not getting better.

If anyone has any recommendations, I'd appreciate it. Pure remote instruction is fine, but in-person when it makes sense is better. Thanks!
Johnson Carolina JD-17
Seagull Coastline Grand
Fender Vintera '50s Stratocaster Modified
Old 12-02-2020, 10:35 AM
Charter Member