The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-01-2018, 05:21 PM
Charter Member

Default Anybody still play ''Willin''?

I started learning it this morning to sing with my jam group. It's such a cool song. Way back when, it was one of the songs a band had to do if they wanted to call themselves a country band. Done by everyone from Linda Ronstadt to Phish.

I'm looking forward to playing it. Does anyone else still do it?
Old 04-01-2018, 05:28 PM

Gregg Allman had it on his posthumous 2017 release "Southern Blood"
Eastman E1 00 SS SB
Fender Stratocaster 60th Anniversary
Squier CV 50's Telecaster

If you don't know where you're going, any road will take you there. George Harrison
Old 04-01-2018, 05:41 PM

Yes sir ! That’s my fallback number that makes non musicians think you’re a musician.
I have been playing that for years, in a very simplified form, then, couple weeks back my pal showed me that little walk-down intro and now my repertoire is complete !

Thing is, in UK only a very very small percentage of people have ever heard of Little Feat, BUT, people still like it, great “gateway to real country “ song. It’s got trucks, drugs, drink, Mexico, all kinds of slacking off, but still gettin’ the job done.

A firm favourite, as is Dixie Chicken .....
Old 04-01-2018, 05:53 PM

It is my go to song. I can actually sing it and it makes my guitar playing sound more advanced then it actually is. Besides it is a Little Feat tune and they have been my favorite band for 30 years.
Old 04-01-2018, 06:20 PM

It's amazing how many songs I have forgotten about.
I had to dial it up on y-tube to recall it. I always liked Linda's version of the song.
I don't know it but may have to give it a whirl.
Old 04-01-2018, 06:21 PM