The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 03-17-2013, 12:22 AM

Default Sustain and bar chords

I need some advice:

I started playing guitar about 6 months ago and am really starting to see some progress beyond the absolute basics. I know pretty much all of the open chords and have dabbled in some finger style patterns and some basic blues stuff. I'm now to the point where I want the simplest stuff to really sound good, it's not enough to just get the right chord. I can fluently change from chord to chord and easy sons are really starting to sound good. But there's one sitaution where that goes out the window; the F chord. Whenever I go to leave that chord the sound completely stops. There is no sustain when I lift the F chord to go to the next. How do I get that chord to keep ringing till the next chord? All of my other chords ring right till the next chord. It makes the F chord sound so in-musical.
Old 03-17-2013, 12:40 AM

As soon as you lift your fretting hand the sound or ring from any full barred chord will stop. There's nothing you can do about it.
Old 03-17-2013, 04:03 AM

Only open strings ring when you take your hands off. The only open string that is in an F chord is the A string. If you use that in an F chord it can help to cover the gap.
Old 03-17-2013, 04:13 AM

Open strings are the key, plus some creativity. Where are you in the song and where are you going? Is there an open string that sounds right in between the chords as a bass or melody note, or just a harmonically suitable sound? Is there a note in the next or previous chord that is common to the barred f?

Other things to try: make a "rhytmic sound". Or dont put down/lift off the entire chord at once, change "in steps".

Strummers create a right hand momentum with interplay between muted, partial and full chords. When done right, you never notice the "holes". Silence is music too.