The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 12-03-2021, 01:49 PM
Charter Member

Default what do you include in your practice regimen?

My question is, at what point did you feel yourself turn that corner and do you have any tips or things to practice that you can recommend that I include in my practice time? Right now my practice is focused on CAGED positions, scales, triad reps, but is there anything else you'd do?
Old 12-03-2021, 02:06 PM
Get off my lawn kid

I play finger style. So what I do is I learn instrumentals. Many of the tunes I want to learn and have learned have enough challenging things in them that learning the tune covered a lot of bases from a practice point of view. What I started practicing again in addition to learning tunes are simple worm exercises going up and down the neck and right hand arpeggios.

My SoundCloud page

Avalon L-320C, Guild D-120, Martin D-16GT, McIlroy A20, Pellerin SJ CW

Cordobas - C5, Fusion 12 Orchestra, C12, Stage Traditional

Alvarez AP66SB, Seagull Folk

Aria {Johann Logy}:
Old 12-03-2021, 02:09 PM
Charter Member

Playing repertoire and learning new pieces.

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 12-03-2021, 02:23 PM
Charter Member

For me, it is:

1. Note finding exercise that I learned from Ted Greene's "Chord Chemistry". This takes about 30 seconds.

2. Run through Robert Conti's chord melody chord collection. This takes about 2 minutes.

3. Open a Real Book at random to a tune and arrange it in chord melody style on the fly. I do anywhere from 3 - 5 of these tunes. This takes maybe 15 - 20 minutes.

4. Study one or more of the lessons I have on my tablet from Jake Reichbart or Barry Greene or Walter Roderigues Jr. or Tim Lerch or Chris Whiteman or Robert Conti.