The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 06-21-2018, 08:48 AM

Default IR vs EQ on acoustic

I'm new to IR. It's it just an EQ curve? Or is it more than that? For my acoustic through Helix setup, it seems that I just need some mild EQ. Creating my own IR seems complicated (software I don't have, etc). Am I missing something?
'13 Jaffrey #26 - Malaysian Blackwood!
'21 Gretsch 5622
'22 Furch Red Pure G-LR - Barbera Soloist
ST-300 Mini + DIY mic preamp
Old 06-21-2018, 09:31 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rschultz View Post
I'm new to IR. It's it just an EQ curve? Or is it more than that? For my acoustic through Helix setup, it seems that I just need some mild EQ. Creating my own IR seems complicated (software I don't have, etc). Am I missing something?
Its more than just EQ, as there's a timing thing going on also. Some of the sounds off the guitar reach the mic a tiny bit later oe earlier than other sounds.

However, I've discovered that ToneDexter can do a much better job of EQing out excessive lows and low mids than I can do with my trusty Zoom A3. Here are some recent comments of mine from a Tonedexter thread.

I'd like to add that ToneDexter not only trains well with old strings, it can also compensate for a problematic pickup - in some instances, at least.

I have this oddball active UST system (Shadow NanoFlex with DiMarzio preamp) which I bought off ebay a few years back. When I tried the system in one of my guitars, it proved to be very feedback prone and way too strong in the lows and low mids. I quickly replaced it with a more balanced pickup and set it aside, thinking I'd likely never get any good use from it.