The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 06-10-2018, 03:54 PM

Default X10 Individual Saddles Effect on Acoustic Tone

We're stuck in speculation mode until the new Emeralds are out in the wild. Hope they get there soon.

I have an X7 with pickup, but play only acoustically. To put it mildly, I'm intrigued with the new X10. The individually adjusted saddles on the X10 would also benefit the acoustic player if they don't degrade acoustic tone. They seem to naturally center the string in the saddle and allow individual string action adjustment. Does anyone have experience with other acoustic guitars using these GraphTech saddles?
Old 06-10-2018, 09:44 PM

I have no experience with the saddles. I’m taking it on faith that the acoustic properties will be on par with the X7 and X20.

I wanted a guitar that would work both as my acoustic, and occasional electric blues guitar. So I ordered the level 2 pickup system. As I am an old guy, and have a smaller frame, so I ordered a 24.6” scale. Allister says that will join at the 13th fret, and keep the bridge in the same spot.

Now I just have to wait and see if it meets my expectations. 6 weeks out for the build.

Hopefully others will get the standard models soon, and we will have some acoustic only sound bytes.
Old 06-10-2018, 09:51 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pine View Post
I have no experience with the saddles. I’m taking it on faith that the acoustic properties will be on par with the X7 and X20.

I wanted a guitar that would work both as my acoustic, and occasional electric blues guitar. So I ordered the level 2 pickup system. As I am an old guy, and have a smaller frame, so I ordered a 24.6” scale. Allister says that will join at the 13th fret, and keep the bridge in the same spot.

Now I just have to wait and see if it meets my expectations. 6 weeks out for the build.