The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 11-01-2019, 03:31 PM
Charter Member

Default Playing My Emeralds...

I'm really new to the Emerald family, and frankly I'm still forming my thoughts, especially with the X20-12 that I just picked up this morning. I'm curious to hear if others share my so-far opinion that the geometry of Emeralds lend themselves (or even require) that they be played differently than a guitar with a more traditional geometry, be they wood or carbon fiber.

My initial impression(s) is that the X20 lends itself more to finger style than strumming. On the other hand, the 12-string X20-12 so far seems to lend itself more to playing with a flatpick. My frame of reference for 12 string guitars is Taylor, having owned three over the past 15 years. Picking up my Emerald 12 string today, I couldn't help comparing it to my last one, an 858.

The 858 was a boomy and brilliant guitar, and from the Emerald's smaller body emenates a more focused 12 string voice. I can't say that either is better than the other, and I'm sure that I'll grow to further appreciate the Emerald's more nuanced tone. Let's face it, one area in which these two shine very brightly is their ergonomics, and clearly the X20-12 win hands-down in that department. While the traditional guitar shape is something we've grown accustomed to, Emerald's shape is well, quite huggable. I'm curious, however, if others have found that their Emerald guitars lend themselves more to a certain type of playing than their standard shaped ones...
Martin D18 Ambertone
Martin 000-15sm

Last edited by RP; 11-20-2021 at 07:07 AM.
Old 11-01-2019, 05:02 PM

I never noticed much difference, but then I am not that much of a guitar player.. I just adopt and only notice things when some one points it out
McPherson: Early Kevin Michael Proto