The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-09-2010, 05:39 AM

Default proper fingerpicking technique

I'm a self taught player so I'm constantly watching videos and comparing them to my own playing to make sure I'm using correct technique.

Yesterday I noticed something that worried me, but I'm not sure if its just because I'm looking at my hands from the top or if I'm really doing it wrong.

My right hand generally stays in a relaxed "fist" position above the strings with the thumb sticking out maybe 0.75" from the index. Because I do not use a thumbpick, my hand is arched a little more than a thumbpick user and if I look down at my hand my thumb forms a upside down "V" with the index finger (got this from pumping nylon).

From the videos I've watched and the books I've read, I know that when your finger hits the strings...the force should be from your knuckle and not the middle joint of your finger. I always kind of imagined that my fingers were piano hammers coming down and hitting the strings and my knuckle was the joint that the "hammers" were attached to.

I noticed yesterday that while my ring and middle finger seems to be relatively rigid when striking the strings (the middle joint has little movement and almost all the movement is at the knuckle), my index finger seems to be half knuckle and half joint finger movement. In fact, it seems the softer I play with my index finger, the less I move my knuckle and the more I move my joint finger.
Old 04-09-2010, 11:52 AM

My first thought for you is to let your ears be the judge. It is certainly true that technique influences tone, however if you are pleased with the sound you are producing and there are no stress related issues with your playing then my advice at this point is to not worry about it.

Quote:
..the force should be from your knuckle and not the middle joint of your finger.