The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 06-27-2019, 09:15 AM

Default Those songs that should be easy but just never sound right?

I'll go first, after six years of daily playing and practice

1- Heart of Gold ( I can play this several ways but none sound like Neil)
2- Bad Moon Rising

Three more that are taking forever -

1- Wild Horses (this one at least is up to a good campfire version)
2- I walk the Line
3- Ring of Fire

Last edited by Kerbie; 06-27-2019 at 10:31 AM.
Old 06-27-2019, 09:36 AM
Charter Member

I've been working on a 2 page arrangement of Planxty Irwin which is now on its 2nd guitar. I started learning it on my Guild D-120 and even recorded it, but I was unhappy with mic position/gain issues so I scrapped it. I found it more comfortable and quieter to play on my Larrivee OM for whatever reason. I'm still undecided on some small details - should I stretch for that note first and then leave position for the next or do it as a intermediary position, etc.

Makes a difference when you tend to be a noisy player. Add to that tune other pieces I've been slowly learning. I'm trying to "raise the bar" on what recordings I post publicly so my whole learning/recording process has slowed down.

Fortunately for the world I don't sing (and know I can't) so you are all spared the nonsense that can sprout from someone that "thinks" they can sing. It's bad enough I impose my "playing" on everyone,

Sad Moments {Marianne Vedral cover}:

My SoundCloud page

Some steel strings, some nylon.
Old 06-27-2019, 09:57 AM
Guest 728