The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 04-25-2013, 12:05 PM

Question Advice: Trip for an Eastman or Ship a Stonebridge?

Hey guys,

Great to join the Acoustic Guitar Forum! I'm new to this, so pardon me if my forum inexperience shows in my post...

I've been playing a 614ce for a while now, but it's just too bright. When I'm playing fingerstyle, the notes sparkle beautifully, but when I take to strum it can sound like glass...

Been doing some research for a warmer guitar that could take a good, "jangly" strumming. I also have been wanting a smaller guitar, so I was wondering if going with an OM would be a good idea. Particularly, the Eastman E20 OM (Adirondack Top, Rosewood Back) or the Stonebridge OM22 (cedar top/ mahogany Back).

But in doing research, I have found myself in a pickle. I can either drive to Alabama (3 and a half hours) to check out an Eastman E20, or I can order the Stonebridge from Richard's Guitars in the UK. Obviously, more peace of mind comes with being able to play the Eastman before buying. But at the same time, even if I love the Eastman, I'll never know if I missed out big time by not getting the Stonebridge. What would you guys do in my position?

Also, I'm open to any thoughts on these choices. If you think neither of these guitars will suit my "warmer strummer" criterion, let me know!

For an idea of what kind of playing will be done with this guitar...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KGOKeGPVYV0 (good sample at about 30 seconds)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_srsRvmMnfY (Again, good sample around 0:30)

Brian
Old 04-25-2013, 12:11 PM

Brian, the red spruce top on the E20OM might be a bit too jangly. The cedar might be warm, but certainly not jangly. I'd strongly suggest you look for an E8OM, with sitka top and rosewood back and sides. Once you give that'n a test drive, I'll wager you'll be driving it home.

Dave