The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 08-28-2020, 11:46 AM

Default Where Were The Nerves?

I played my newest original at an open mic last night. It was a round robin setup with about 20 performers and I was second from the end. The guy just before me was a seasoned entertainer who has played onstage with Gordon Lightfoot, Kristofferson and countless others. He’s also a phenomenal picker. Not someone I wanted to follow since I’m an advanced hobbyist. My nerves were almost totally out of control as the applause for him died down. I was glad everyone was wearing masks so nobody could see my mouth breathing hyperventilating! I launched into my song with a fingerstyle arrangement following the best fingerstyle picker who’d ever been to this open mic. I perceived my voice to be struggling and almost choking. I nearly gave up halfway through. Imagine my complete surprise today as I watched a video someone took of me and posted on Facebook. The best description is my performance was flawless. I could hardly believe I was watching the same performance that had me wanting to slink out in embarrassment. I have no explanation for how such a panic filled moment came out so well. None whatsoever.
Old 08-28-2020, 01:12 PM

Congratulations.

I remember an interview with a famous pro football player at a Super Bowl and when asked if they were nervous ... he said "Hell yes I'm nervous, show me someone that's not nervous and I'll show you someone that does not deserve to be here today."

As a musician you'll have good days and bad days. Everyone does. Over the years when I thought our band was playing just awful, someone would approach us after a gig and tell us how much they enjoyed the music. And just the reverse after a flawless performance of a complicated piece...silence.

Chalk it up and file it in the file labeled "Go Figure"
Taylor 612ce (2001)
Taylor T5-C2 Koa (2007)