The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 04-08-2021, 06:44 AM

Default Building A Ukulele

I am in the planning stages of building a ukulele. My daughter and I built one of StewMac's tenor kits last summer. We had a lot of fun and it sounds better than the concert size I have. It is also more comfortable than my concert size. I want to build another one, from scratch. I'm an experienced woodworker but have never built an instrument.

My uke will have a mahogany back and sides and a spruce top. I have maple I will use as a neck. A few questions to start with, and I'm sure I will have more. I have some figured hard dense wood that I want to use as a fretboard. It is a MM or two thinner than the fretboards on my other ukes. If used it i would need to lower the height of the nut and saddle to get the action I like. Would that make a difference for sound?

For bending the sides, I'm planning a pineaple shape, so the only sharp bends will be at the neck and bridge ends of the body. Is it possible just to soak them for several hours and clamp them in a form? They're thinner than what is used for a guitar - .09" finished thickness. I can also use a hot pipe.
Old 04-08-2021, 07:28 AM

Here's a plan that I drew up in CAD that might help you if you need critical measurements.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1-sj...ew?usp=sharing

Your board thickness can be accomodated when you do your set up, but it should be OK in any case.

Last edited by Rudy4; 04-08-2021 at 07:39 AM.
Old 04-08-2021, 09:16 AM

thank you. that will help a lot. My plan was to take my measurements from the one I built using the Stewmac kit.
Old 04-08-2021, 10:20 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by crokett View Post