The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 06-27-2018, 01:49 PM

Default Eric church fingerpicking style...how?

So I’m looking for some info on fingerpicking “theory”. All I can seem to find online is how to fingerpicking but I’m looking for some insight on what strings to strum and in what rhythm for a specific song. I put Eric church because I really like how his songs sound. I’m new to the guitar and all I seem too see online is chords but I don’t see or know how to recognize when and how to pick those chords vs strumming them.
Old 06-27-2018, 03:26 PM
Charter Member

Try just listening and figuring it out.

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 06-27-2018, 03:46 PM

The listening part of learning to play guitar is the most important aspect. You are new to it and would not know that, but it can't be stressed enough. Ear training is head and shoulders important above any visual aid (scores, tabs). If you listen to one note of a piece of music and then find it on the guitar, that's a brilliant start. Then learn which note that is by it's name. Proceed through a piece of music in this manner and make that your discipline. Before you realize it you will have trained your ear to the fret board, and also know the notes of each string/fret. I've met countless players who are completely lost without a tab or score because they play mechanically. Listening to a song after ear training is achieved will allow you to play it from your head (inner ear). You'll be able to jump into any session and contribute on the fly with no visual aids.