The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 12-15-2016, 10:48 AM

Default The Rev. Gary Davis

An earlier thread about Roy Book Binder got me back into listening to some basics of Reverend Gary Davis' style.

I watched my copy of "Harlem Street Singer" again and discovered a whole bunch of supplemental material that I had missed the first time around (Homespun).

I am only beginning to realize how many modern fingerstyle players the "Rev." influenced and how many times I have heard his riffs without recognizing them.

Gotta love the internet.

Rick
Old 12-15-2016, 11:33 AM

"Sally Where'd You Get That Liquor From?" was something I heard played by a co-worker more than 30 years ago. I simply HAD to learn how to do that, and started on my whole finger style journey. It is still on my instrumental play list, along with many other songs in the country blues / Piedmont / ragtime styles. I enjoy Roy Book Binder's story telling about him too. I need to look and see if there is a copy of "Harlem Street Singer" on my shelf.

Rev. Gary surely did influence a lot of players back in the day, and I've studied the materials from Stefan Grossman's Guitar Workshop and Homespun, and others. A friend (now deceased) even took some lessons from him in NYC back in the early 60's.
Old 12-15-2016, 11:41 AM

It would be so interesting to find out the list of kids who took lessons in that little house, wouldn't it? In the interview, Roy Book Binder says that he thanked the Reverend for introducing him to almost every friend he ever had.
Old 12-15-2016, 11:46 AM
Charter Member

Location: Stationary home in NJ. Mobile home on any given highway.

Davis was a major influence in my own playing. I only came to realize his playing through listening and reading interviews of the folks who were directly influenced by him, such as Jorma Kaukonen, Stefan Grossman and Roy Book Binder.