The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Closed Thread

Old 10-19-2018, 06:17 PM

Default How much should I push back?

I'm a guitar tech with my own shop. A good customer of mine wants me to install a Fishman Presys Blend (barndoor style) in his custom shop Martin D-41 12-fret, 12-string. I installed this system in one of his cheaper guitars and he really likes it. He approached me about a year ago about installing one in the D-41, and I told him I wouldn't do it because it would hurt the value of the guitar. Now he is begging me to do it again. I've discussed all the alternatives, and he isn't interested in any of them. It currently has a Fishman Matrix system installed... that's the one with the tiny controls mounted inside the sound-hole.

Now, the Fishman is a nice pickup system for low to mid level guitars. I've installed a bunch, and everyone likes them. But I REALLY don't want to put one in a high end guitar like his. Cutting a big hole in the side of a guitar like that is just seems so WRONG.

This guy does some not-so-smart things with his guitars... example: He has a lower-end Martin 12-string that he decided to turn it into a 6-string, so he cut off half the headstock so now it just had six tuners, and cut off the end with the Martin logo and glued it on the end of the shortened headstock. HE did this, NOT ME, mind you! And yes, it looked as silly as you are imagining. About a year later he brought it to me asking me to make it back into a 12-string, which I did.

So what would you do? Is this a case where the customer is always right.... give him what he wants, or should I stick to my guns and refuse to do it? I'm leaning toward the latter.

Edit after reading 50+ responses: