The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 04-01-2015, 01:56 PM

Default help finding a classical

First off, I apologize if these questions have been asked 100 times, and feel free to give links where I can get this info, but I wasn't able to find what I was looking for through searching.

Anyway, I'm looking for my first nylon string. I've been playing electric/steel strings for 25+ years, and want to start something new. The main guitars I currently play are a Jackson RR1T, Gibson R7, and a Taylor 714 (tuned to B standard hahah). I'm worried that I won't end up spending a ton of time with a nylon string, so I don't want to spend a fortune, but I want something that's nice enough I won't be looking for a new one in a few months if I do enjoy it. I'm thinking something in the $1,000-2,000 range in terms of budget. Is it even possible to get something quality in that range? The lower the better, but I do want something that sounds and plays great.

Other than the steel string makers who also make nylons, I'm not very familiar with brands I should be looking at. There's a local spot who sells pretty high end stuff and carries a brand called German Vazquez Rubio. This is really the only thing I know to checkout locally, but I think that may be a little out of my price range (unless I heard a compelling argument for it).